- MADISON COUNTY -
Today (April 15, 2013) is the first day that NYS citizens will be able to start registering their assault weapons. The NYS Police have completed their online registration application. It can be found at this link—http://www.governor.ny.gov/nysafeact/gun-reform. A paper copy of the registration form is also available there for download.
NYS Firearms License Request for Public Records Exemption Form Instructions
Pistol Permit Website Opt Out Instructions
NY SAFE ACT information & links: In January, the New York Legislature passed "The NY SAFE Act". Information on this law and related issues are provided through this link, courtesy of the Wayne County Sheriff's Office and New York State Sheriff's Association.
PISTOL PERMIT OFFICE HOURS:
Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesday and Fridays: 9 am – 12 pm & 1 pm - 4 pm (Closed 12 pm - 1 pm)
Thursday: 11 am – 3 pm & 4 pm - 6 pm (Closed 3 pm - 4 pm)
*PLEASE CALL TO VERIFY OUR AVAILABILITY
**Your pistol permit is valid anywhere in New York State, except in the five counties of the City of New York.
**Your pistol permit is valid until suspended or revoked. Moving out of New York State & Death also terminate your permit (see MOVING & DEATH sections).
You must be a Madison County Resident or principally employed within Madison County and lived or in worked Madison County for at least 6 months.
You must be 21 years old.
When applying you must have either a hunting license, pistol safety course, or proof of military service.
TO ANOTHER STATE: You must turn in your pistol permit to the Madison County Pistol Permit Office.
TO ANOTHER COUNTY: You may leave your permit records with Madison County. If you do, you must come into the Madison County Pistol Permit Office and do a 'MOVE' amendment with in ten (10) days. A fee will be charged. If you leave your records in Madison county, you must come back to Madison County to make any amendments to your pistol permit.
TO TRANSFER TO ANOTHER COUNTY: You must come into the Madison County Pistol Permit Office and complete a 'MOVE & TRANSFER' amendment as well as a Transfer Request Form. Fees will be charged for amendments and one (1) $5.00 check will be needed; made payable to Madison County Clerk.
WITHIN MADISON COUNTY: You must come into the Madison County Pistol Permit Office and do a 'MOVE' amendment within ten (10) days of the move. You must also put in a 'MOVE' amendment even if you don't move, but your address is changed in any way. A fee will be charged.
DUPLICATE LICENSES: May be obtained for mutilated or lost permits. Call the Pistol Permit Office, 315-366-2406, for further information.
POSSESSION - DO NOT TAKE POSSESSION OF ANY HANDGUN(s) UNTIL AFTER YOU HAVE REGISTERED THE HANDGUN (s) WITH THE PISTOL PERMIT OFFICE AND OBTAIN PURCHASE COUPON AND GET HANDGUN(S) PUT ON PISTOL PERMIT.
REPORT - Report all lost, stolen, or destroyed handguns to the Pistol Permit Office. You should also report this information to a Police Agency.
TRAVELING: Your handgun(s) should be locked in a container in your trunk and your ammunition kept separate. Restricted permit for HUNTING AND TARGET means you can only carry the handguns(s) for those purposes. You MAY NOT cross State Lines with a handgun, unless for NRA shooting matches. Call the Pistol Permit Office for more information. You MAY NOT enter New York City (the 5 counties of) with a handgun unless you have prior permission.
ADDING / DELETING A HANDGUN: You will need to bring in a reciept for the pistol that is marked paid in full. You will also need to complete an amendement for changes. You may call the Pistol Permit Office for additional information.
NOTE: Handguns may be co-registered with Spouses, etc., if they live in the same household.
DEATH OF PERMIT HOLDER: Your death terminates your pistol permit. The family must turn your pistol permit into the Pistol Permit Office along with a copy of the "death certificate". All the handgun(s) must be accounted for. The family has 15 days to hold onto / sell to a dealer / or transfer to another pistol permit, any or all handguns which you had on your permit. If not completed in 15 days, all handguns must be turned into the Madison County Office of the Sheriff until the estate tells us what is to be done with the handgun(s). These handguns can be held for 1 year. For more information on this subject, please call 315-366-2406.
DISPOSAL: There is specific paperwork to be accomplished when disposing of a handgun(s). Make sure that you accomplish all of it!
Pistol Permit Application..........................$ 3.00
Fingerprint Cards/DCJS & FBI..............$ 91.50*
(*must be a postal money order payable to Madison County Treasurer)
Fingerprints and Photo Fee....................$ 20.00
Original Pistol Permit Fee......................$ 10.00
Madison County Filing Fee.....................$ 5.00
TOTAL ORIGINAL PERMIT FEE: $ 129.50
Duplicate Pistol Permit Fee.................$ 17.00
Amendment (Pistol Permit Changes)....$ 3.00
Note: All fees are subject to change at any time without previous notification
NYS Firearms License Request for Public Records Exemption Form - Pursuant to section 400.00 (5) (b) of the NYS Penal Law
To request request that information concerning your firearms license application or firearms license not be available as public record.